Adult Leagues / Arena Soccer / Kitsap Pumas

goalWA.net PASL NW Player of the Week: Pat Perkins, Kitsap Pumas

POTW-PERKINS

BREMERTON, Wash. — Local kid returns home, does good. That’s the working story after Pat Perkins scored four goals and chipped in three assists as the Kitsap Pumas mauled Oregon Blacktails FC 13:3 on January 12th in PASL NW action. You can’t get any more local than Perkins, who played soccer at and graduated from Bremerton High School. Perkins’ explosive night for Kitsap earns him the honor of being named the goalWA.net PASL NW Player of the Week for the fifth round of action.

“Pat gave us a big, strong performance,” says Pumas head coach Dustyn Brim of Perkins’ breakout match for Kitsap on the road in Salem, Oregon. “He held the ball very well and brought others in to the attack. He finished his chances. His play helped us stretch the field.”

Pat Perkins. (Madi Williamson)

Pat Perkins. (Madi Williamson)

Perkins talked about his big match. “The first goal came to me with my back facing the goal with a defender on my back, I flicked it over the defender and spun off, then half volleyed it into the far corner,” says the 25-year-old forward. “For The second and third goals I was in the right place at the right time. The ball popped out to me and I had a couple one time finishes. The third goal came from a bad angle on the goalie, he had the near post covered so I just toe-poked the ball through the goalies legs.”

Perkins found dishing out assists better than scoring goals. “My favorite part of the game was my assist to Brian (Meherg) where Kyle (Johnson) passed me the ball and I hit it across the middle to Brian for an amazing finish.”

Perkins is a Navy City original. “I am originally from Bremerton. Born and raised,” he tells goalWA.net. “After I graduated college in Arizona (Grand Canyon) I decided to move back to Washington My good friend Kyle Johnson informed me that the team needed players. So I came up after the 2012 (outdoor PDL) season already started and trained with them for the rest of the season. After that they called me up for indoor and I am excited and willing to play.”

Perkins (yellow shirt, center right), broke through for Kitsap with four goals and three assists to be named Player of the Week in the PASL Northwest by goalWA.net. (Wilson Tsoi)

Perkins (yellow shirt, center right), broke through for Kitsap with four goals and three assists to be named Player of the Week in the PASL Northwest by goalWA.net. (Wilson Tsoi)

“I am experienced in the indoor game,” Perkins says. “In Arizona I played in a semi-pro league after college. I have played indoor for many years. Pro indoor is a lot different than rec indoor though. Faster and more fun.

Pat has his eye on sticking with Kitsap when the club goes outdoors in the spring.

“I am hoping they want me to come back for the spring season. I would love to do my part and help this team get back to playoffs and hopefully win another championship.”

Previous 2013 POTW winners: Week One- Josh Rudnik, Week Two- Jeff Renslo, Week Three-Nate Ford, Week Four-Kevin Flavin.

3 thoughts on “goalWA.net PASL NW Player of the Week: Pat Perkins, Kitsap Pumas

  1. Pingback: PASL weekend preview: Stars home; rematches from last week « goalWA.net

  2. Pingback: PASL NW Players of the Week: Experience and youth combine for South Sound Shock « goalWA.net

  3. Pingback: PASL NW Player of the Week: Joel Grossman, WSA Rapids « goalWA.net

Leave a Reply

