Original Sounders with Doug Thiel / Seattle Sounders FC

Checking in with NASL Sounders legend Jocky Scott

jockeylarge-1a

by David Falk

Jocky Scott (wiki) scored what could still be considered one of the biggest goals by any Sounder back in 1977 when his glancing header carried Seattle to a 1:0 win over the Los Angeles Aztecs and George Best before 57,000 fans in the Kingdome. The strike earned Seattle a berth in Soccer Bowl ’77. Jocky is in Scotland these days, hoping for another shot at managing a club.

How did Scott become a Sounder? (Jocky’s NASL Jersey Page)

“Jimmy Gabriel had a friend at the time, Jimmy Johnston, whose dad lived in Dundee, Scotland where I had played for a number of years and he recommended me and so the general manager Jack Daley came to Scotland to sign me,” he tells goalWA.net in a recent email exchange.

“My memories of the NASL Sounders are of playing with a great bunch of players and management and staff who made me feel at home from the beginning, playing in the Kingdome, and playing against great players such as Pele and beating them…the Sounders fans turned up in good numbers…and of course playing in the Soccer Bowl.

“Obviously I remember the Kingdome, Bellevue where we lived, Mount Rainier and the people who were very friendly. I found playing in the Kingdome great; it was my first time playing on astroturf which I thought suited my game. The atmosphere the fans created was wonderful.”

Photo here and top of article: Jocky Scott during Soccer Bowl '77. (Scott Butner)

Photo here and top of article: Jocky Scott during Soccer Bowl ’77. (Scott Butner)

Jocky says his memories of big NASL crowds make it easy to believe Seattle is still a soccer attendance leader.

“I am not really surprised by the (current) attendance at Sounders games. In 1977 we averaged 27,000 at the Kingdome that season. The fans will attend especially if the team is doing well and I have noticed the team has done very well in recent seasons.”

Jocky left the Sounders after 1978.

“I came to the end of my loan term with the Sounders in 1978 and indicated to Jimmy Gabriel that I would like to join them full time. Jimmy tried but my club back in Scotland wanted a transfer fee and the Sounders didn’t want to pay it.”

Scott has stayed in the game, even up to today.

“I have been both fortunate and unfortunate in my managerial career. I have worked at some good clubs with good players only to find owners and directors who were impatient or knew nothing about football (soccer) who brought an end to it.”

“Whats next ? I would love to get another chance to either coach or manage before I am ready to retire. However I may only be dreaming.”

His greeting to generations of Seattle supporters: “To the Sounders fans who attended the Kingdome in my day I thank you for the support you gave to me during my time in Seattle. For me it was a great time in my career.
To the fans of today keep supporting the Sounders.”

roofing2013supportingsoccer
goalWA.net Local Soccer News is sponsored by Pro Roofing Northwest, Kirkland, Bellevue, Seattle, Redmond, Woodinville, Federal Way, Everett, Snohomish, Issaquah, Renton, Kent, Bothell, Edmonds Washington roofing company.

One thought on “Checking in with NASL Sounders legend Jocky Scott

Leave a Reply

