Cascade Conference awards have an Evergreen hue

Cascade Conference awards have an Evergreen hue

LA GRANDE, Ore. – Concordia University’s Septi Danciu has been named Cascade Collegiate Conference Men’s Soccer Player of the Year. Brady Espinoza and Willie Spurr of The Evergreen State College were tabbed as the Conference’s top defender and newcomer, respectively.

Danciu, a 5-foot-9 junior forward, led or tied for the lead in every major statistical category this season in the CCC. The Bristita, Romania native unleashed 75 shots in 20 games (3.75 spg), scored 18 goals, 6 assists, for a total 42 points. Of his 18 goals, eight were game-winners. He was also responsible for scoring seven penalty kick goals; tops in the CCC.

Evergreen’s Brady Espinoza anchored a defense that led the CCC in shutouts with nine. The Geoducks rode their defense to the CCC tournament final where there season would eventually come to an end with a 2-1 loss to Concordia. The 5-foot-8 junior defender from Pasco, Wash. showed excellent athletic range as he pushed forward throughout the season coming up with four goals and assisting on another. One of his tallies was a game winner against rival Northwest in early November.

Also bringing home post-season hardware for The Evergreen State College was Newcomer of the Year, Willie Spurr. The freshman forward from Seattle led all Evergreen players with 10 goals and 23 points in his 17 contests. Spurr’s 23 points was second best in Conference play behind Danciu.

This year’s Coach of the Year honor goes to Evergreen’s John Purtteman. Under his leadership, the Geoducks were 13-6 overall and 12-2 (24 pts.) in Conference play, placing second behind perennial power Concordia. The 13 wins in 2012 easily outpaced the win total for the past two seasons where the Geoducks were a combined 7-21-5.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Septi Danciu, Jr., F, Concordia

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Brady Espinoza, Jr., Evergreen

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Willie Spurr, Fr., F, Evergreen

COACH OF THE YEAR: John Purtteman, Evergreen


Pos. Name Institution Cl. Hometown
GK   Joe Galbraith   Northwest   Jr.   Whitefish, Mont.
D Tillerman Kroon Corban Sr. Wasilla, Alaska
D Jordan Green Concordia Jr. Portland, Ore.
D   Brady Espinoza   Evergreen   Jr.   Pasco, Wash.
MF Tyler Hagen Corban Sr. Silverton, Ore.
MF Juan Casillo Corban Sr. Woodburn, Ore.
MF   Radcliffe McDougald   Concordia   Jr.   Mercer Island, Wash.
MF Gerrit Hamann Concordia Jr. Hildesheim, Germany
F Septi Danciu Concordia Jr. Bristita, Romania
F   Willie Spurr   Evergreen   Fr.   Seattle, Wash.
F Alberto Casas Warner Pacific So. Salem, Ore.


Pos. Name Institution Cl. Hometown
GK   Mauricio Sanchez   Evergreen   Jr.   Wenatchee, Wash.
D   Matt Eronemo   Concordia   Sr.   Kentwood, Wash.
D Ben Tjaden College of Idaho Sr. Boise, Idaho
D Robert Brewer Warner Pacific Sr. Gresham, Ore.
MF   George Bundy   Evergreen   Sr.   Enumclaw, Wash.
MF   Jeff Roland   Evergreen   Jr.   Tacoma, Wash.
MF   Do-hee Kim   Northwest   Jr.   Seoul, South Korea
MF Jameson Jones Warner Pacific Jr. Portland, Ore.
F Mike Chamberlain Concordia Jr. Wailua, Hawai’i
F   Mirza Memic   Evergreen   Sr.   Bellevue, Wash.
F Almir Celebic Warner Pacific So. Portland, Ore.


College of Idaho
Chenjerai Simpson, Sr., D
Emilio Yomaha, So., F

Sam Carmichael, Jr., MF

Aaron Kinnes, Sr., MF
Arsinio Walker, So., F

Brandon Wood, Sr., D

James Kerr, Sr., F

Northwest Christian
Chris Longi, Sr., MF

Oregon Tech
Dustin Hirarta, Sr., MF


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s