Evergreen Premier League set for third AGM Friday in Seattle

Evergreen Premier League set for third AGM Friday in Seattle

Bellingham United v. Seattle Stars, 2015. (Stars photo)

EPLWA Logo-07SEATTLE, WA — The Evergreen Premier League will hold its third annual general meeting Friday October 16 in Seattle as the independent but well-affiliated statewide men’s soccer league prepares for its 2016 campaign. Club owners and operators will meet at the headquarters of Seattle Sounders FC, who are hosting the league at The NINETY near Pioneer Square. Previous EPLWA AGM’s were held in Wenatchee and Everett.

League President Peter Ostrovsky will lead the meeting in which the clubs are expected to talk about their best practices from the 2015 season, which ended in late July with the Spokane Shadow claiming a second straight league championship. Also on the agenda are special presentations of thanks to sponsors who have backed the league in its first two seasons.

Wenatchee FC players bond before kickoff at rivals Yakima United. (WFC photo / Zach Olney)

The Evergreen Premier League was formed in 2013 to bring playing, coaching and supporting opportunities at an elite adult level to soccer communities around the state of Washington. The EPLWA has drawn 30,000 fans over two seasons and 112 matches played. The league was given 4th Division US Soccer status in 2014 when the United States Adult Soccer Association named the EPLWA a Premier League. This honor puts the league in the same division as the PDL, NPSL, and other USASA Premier Leagues around the country.

Players who have suited up for EPLWA clubs have gone on to NCAA Division One schools, Division 3 pro soccer in the USL (United Soccer Leagues) and even have been drafted into MLS (Major League Soccer.) Currently scores of EPLWA players are competing for colleges around the Northwest, including nationally ranked schools.

Soccer supporters culture has come to life in Wenatchee (The Bridge Mafia), Vancouver (The Vanguard) and Bellingham (Bellinghammers SC, The BUFC Black & White Army) around EPLWA sides in those towns.

Bellingham supporters celebrate a Hammers goal. (BUFC /David Willoughby)

In the summer of 2015 South Sound FC (Tacoma) won the USASA U-23 National Title in Virginia Beach, Virginia with a dominating run through the tournament. South Sound featured an armada of Tacoma-area players and was bolstered by players joining their run from fellow EPLWA sides Vancouver Victory FC and Wenatchee FC.

The Evergreen Premier League plays from late April to late July across the state of Washington. The eight member clubs of the EPLWA are Bellingham United FC (“Hammers”), Olympic Force, Seattle Stars FC, South Sound FC (“Shock”), Spokane Shadow, Vancouver Victory FC, Wenatchee FC (“Capitals”) and Yakima United FC (“Hoppers.”)

The Spokane Shadow, 2014 and 2015 EPLWA Champions. (Shadow / Erik Smith)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s